Go to top of page

ANZAC Spirit School Prize

20 September 2017

Chosen from over 450 entries, 13 South Australian students are the recipients of a once in a lifetime study tour to Vietnam this October as part of the 2017 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize.

The competition is designed to give year 9 and 10 students insight into the history of World War 1 by researching a South Australian soldier or nurse who served between 1914 and 1918. 

This is the second year the tour for the prize is travelling to Vietnam where students will participate in commemoration activities and a variety of learning experiences as they travel between Ho Chi Min City,

Vang Tau, Da Nang, Hue and Hanoi.

Winning students will undertake further research on a soldier who served in Vietnam between 1962 and 1972, and students will conduct commemoration activities for the soldier they have studied.

2017 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize winners

Winning student School
Abbie Nourse Nurioopta High School
Alicia Crowhurst Investigator College
Alyssa Siebert Lock Area School
Hannah Brown St Peters Girls
Hannah Zerk Lock Area School
Jasmin Grist Investigator College
Jessica Timms Yorketown Area School
Josh Loxton Loxton High School
Joshua Berman Mark Oliphant College
Laura Stephens Cabra Dominican College
Lily Bright Loxton High School
Lucy Fielke Cornerstone College
Metala Burgess Nurioopta High School


The Premier's ANZAC Spirit School Prize is in its 10th year and has seen 108 students travel to the battlefields of the Western Front, Gallipoli, South Korea, Singapore and Vietnam.