Go to top of page

SA Excellence in Public Education Award finalists announced

14 July 2016

The finalists for the 2016 SA Excellence in Public Education Awards have been announced, recognising 54 of our state’s top leaders, teachers and support staff workers.

Now in its sixth year, the public education awards put the spotlight on staff who go above and beyond to support children and young people to be their best.

Executive Director, People and Culture, Sam Bradley said the awards give fellow staff, students and families the opportunity to say ‘thank you’ to the dedicated employees working tirelessly in our public preschools and schools.

“Congratulations to this year’s finalists who have demonstrated how passionate they are about their role in educating and caring for our children and young people,” Sam said.

“Hundreds of nominations were made and every single one of them provided a little insight into some of the amazing work that goes on in preschools and schools across the state.

“We are lucky to have such a strong education workforce in South Australia and we are committed to recognising the positive efforts of staff.”

Finalists have been nominated for 1 of 7 categories:

  • Leadership: open to any leader in a DECD school, preschool or early childhood centre, including principals, preschool directors and deputy principals.
  • Early Years Teaching: open to teachers of children and students, Birth-Year 2.
  • Credit Union SA Primary Teaching: open to teachers of the primary years (Year 3 – Year 7).
  • Secondary Teaching: open to teachers of the secondary years (Year 8 – Year 12).
  • Support Staff: open to any support staff member in a DECD school, preschool or early childhood centre.
  • Partnership Innovation: open to teams collaborating within or across partnerships to research best practice in other jurisdictions.
  • Lifetime Achievement: open to outstanding teachers, leaders or support staff in DECD schools who have served more than 30 years with the department. Applications are to be made on the entrant’s behalf.

The 54 finalists now go in the running to win 1 of 13 overall SA Excellence in Public Education Awards, which will be announced at the National Wine Centre on Friday 14 October.

Overall winners of the teaching and support staff categories will receive professional learning of their choice up to the value of $10,000, and the winners from the leadership category will be given the opportunity to attend a course at Harvard Graduate School of Education in the US.

The winning partnership will receive a grant of up to $50,000, which will go towards a research project to support their priorities and the lifetime achievement award winner will receive a $1000 personal wellbeing grant, which they could put towards a health club membership.

2016 SA Excellence in Public Education Awards finalists


  • Dean Angus - Kadina Memorial School
  • Wendy Burge - Watervale Primary School
  • Steven Cameron - Barbara Kiker Memorial Kindergarten
  • Kathy Davison - Port Lincoln Junior Primary School
  • Gale Hansen - Renmark Children's Centre
  • Dan Jarrad - Elizabeth Grove Primary School
  • Leila Kasprzak - Mount Compass Area School
  • Kirsty Lush - Naracoorte South Primary School
  • Jasmine Millbanks - Campbelltown Preschool
  • Amanda Narroway - Maitland Children's Centre
  • Rebecca Smitran - Waikerie High School
  • Kerry Strugnell - Kurralta Park Community Kindergarten

Early Years Teaching

  • Sarah Atkins - Maitland Area School
  • Anthea Bartlett - Happy Valley Primary School
  • Tarsha Howard - Craigmore Kindergarten
  • Anna McGovern - Craigmore Kindergarten
  • Joanne Tilley - Port Lincoln Junior Primary School
  • Tina Watson - Naracoorte South Primary School
  • Natalie Wilksch - Flinders Park Primary School
  • Nicola Winkworth - Surrey Downs R - 7 School

Credit Union SA Primary Teaching

  • Scott Foale - Woodville Gardens School B - 7
  • Stephanie Hentschel - Blair Athol North School B - 7
  • Jo Hurrell - Kadina Memorial School
  • Andrea Lindner - Renmark Primary School
  • Charlene McGrath - Aberfoyle Hub R - 7 School
  • Sara Scott - Stradbroke School
  • Amy Williams - Kangaroo Inn Area School
  • Cassandra Young - Mount Barker South Primary School

Secondary Teaching

  • Tennille Aburto - Port Lincoln High School
  • Shaun Bell - Mount Barker High School
  • Diana Hinic - Roma Mitchell Secondary College
  • Megan Hooper - Mimili Anangu School
  • Naomi Kuchel - Thebarton Senior College
  • Jade Lock - Grant High School
  • Matthew Stevens - Thebarton Senior College
  • Anne Young - Golden Grove High School

Support Staff

  • Karley Anderson - Riverland Special School
  • Pauline Bolto - Littlehampton Primary School
  • Chelsea Hallion - Pennington Kindergarten
  • Lisa Hendry - Yorketown Area School
  • Cheryl Kramm - Naracoorte South Primary School
  • Jodie Peel - Sir Thomas Playford Kindergarten
  • Fiona Pulford - Mount Gambier Children's Centre
  • Jackie Vallance - Willunga High School

Partnership Innovation

  • Port Augusta/Quorn Partnership
  • Blue Lake Partnership
  • South East Coast and Vines Partnership
  • Western Adelaide Shores Partnership

Lifetime Achievement

  • Kathryn Entwistle - Darlington Primary School
  • Marika Marlow - Mount Barker Primary School
  • Carlo Quitadamo - Barbara Kiker Memorial Kindergarten
  • Rosalie Richards - Pipalyatjara Anangu School
  • Pauline Rivett - Lucindale Area School
  • Kerry Strugnell - Kurralta Park Community Kindergarten