Go to top of page

2019 ANZAC Spirit School Prize

7 June 2019

More than 1000 students have taken part in the 2019 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize competition, with 16 Years 9 and 10 students from across the state selected to attend a 14-day study tour to Vietnam later this year.

The Premier’s ANZAC Sprit School Prize provides the opportunity for young South Australians to examine and empathise with the remarkable sacrifices of South Australian service men and women during the 20th century.

The competition involves students researching a South Australian service man or woman who served during World War 1 or 2. Students also had to discuss how the individual they researched demonstrated the characteristics of the ANZAC spirit.

Student work was judged by the depth of research involved and the written quality of the piece.

Through the trip to Vietnam, which will occur from 29 September to 13 October, the selected students will delve deeper into the history, geography and politics of the Vietnam War.


2019 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize recipients:

Sophie Baker - Central Yorke School

Melissa Campbell - Glenunga International High School

Laura Cassell - Xavier College

Matilda Cotton - Glenunga International High School

Lily Farrell - Loreto College

Montana Foster - Wudinna Area School

Liam Kay - Cardijn College

Shreyas Khanna - St Peters College

Sophie Lipman - Loxton High School

India Little - Kingston Community School

Charli Medlow - Meningie Area School

Ryan Schwarz - Endeavour College

Elise Turtur - Roxby Down Area School

William Wiseman - Kingston Community School

Daisy Yates - Saint Martin’s Lutheran College

Tabitha Zdanowicz - Loxton High School