Go to top of page

Aboriginal students celebrated

30 May 2019

As part of National Reconciliation Week, seven ambitious Aboriginal students will tonight be awarded with scholarships to support their SACE achievement at an awards celebration at Government House.

Two Aboriginal graduates will also be recognised at the event for their high attainment in Year 12 last year.

The Dame Roma Mitchell Scholarships assist Aboriginal students in Year 11 and 12 to prepare for their pursuit of their career goals following school.

Scholarship recipients receive a $1,000 scholarship in both Year 11 and 12.

All of this year’s scholarship recipients aspire to go into careers with purpose that positively influence and support their own communities, including teaching, nursing, law and the police.

Kadina Memorial School 2018 graduate Nathan Jones and Adelaide High School 2018 graduate Tyran Hill will be receiving the CE’s Reconciliation Award, presented to the two Aboriginal students with the highest Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) in the state.

Dame Roma Mitchell Scholarship recipients
Ebony Austin - Eudunda Area School
Kiara Sims - Kaurna Plains School
Shakaya Aitken-Glass - Glossop High School
Angie Couzner - Nuriootpa High School
Wes Frankel - Glossop High School
Malisha Charters - Blackwood High School
Akaysha Hill - Adelaide High School

CE’s Reconciliation Award recipients
Nathan Jones - Kadina Memorial School
Tyran Hill - Adelaide High School