Go to top of page

SA education award winners revealed

12 October 2018

South Australian public educators have been recognised for their outstanding work at the annual SA Public Education Awards ceremony on Friday evening.

Some examples of the exceptional work from nominees include teachers who inspired their students to send their projects to the International Space Station, design habitats for rhinos and overcome a phobia of maths.

All winners and nominees demonstrated excellence and innovation and provided students and pre-schoolers with the best possible education and support.

Winner Organisation Award
Amanda Pedder Roma Mitchell Secondary College Secondary Teacher of the Year
Annette Hammond Tumby Bay Area School School and Preschool support award
Antoinette Jones Mitcham Girls High School Teachers Health Leadership Award
Early Career Teacher Development program People and Culture System Excellence Award
Katrina Tjitayi Anangu Education Services Ernabella Aunty Josie Agius Award
Kelly Rivett Vale Park Primary School Credit Union SA Primary Teacher of the Year
Mike Hawkey Two Wells Primary School Innovation in Practice Award
Paint the Inner West REaD Parks Children's Centre Community Engagement Award
Peta Tooley Gawler and District College B-12 Early Years Teacher of the Year
Roger Nottage John Pirie Secondary School Performance through Values Award

The 10 winners will receive $10,000 to go towards professional development, with 20 runners-up receiving $2,000 in support.The annual awards acknowledge the outstanding individual and team contributions that are helping to build a world-class education system in South Australia. This year the awards received a record number of nominations.

Information on the individual award winners can be found on the Education Department’s website.