Go to top of page

Schools set for $10m disability boost

7 May 2020

Ten public high schools are set to receive new specialised education facilities for students with disability, in time for when year 7 moves to high school in 2022.

The new facilities will be established as part of a $10 million package that will deliver 180 places in specialised education options as part of the year 7 move.

The schools are: Craigmore High School, Grant High School, John Pirie Secondary School, Kadina Memorial School, Le Fevre High School, Mount Barker High School, Nuriootpa High School, Parafield Gardens High School, Seaford Secondary College and Wirreanda Secondary School.

The ten schools will now work on detailed designs for their new facilities, which will be completed in line with the statewide move of year 7 into high school in term 1, 2022.

Schools were shortlisted following a geographical analysis of the 2018 year 3 cohort of students accessing a specialised education option, to establish projected areas of greatest need.

A range of other factors were considered in the shortlisting process, such as schools with existing specialised education options, school culture, capacity requirements and student pathways.

A further scoping process will continue to identify other potential schools for additional specialised education facilities to support the year 7 move.