Go to top of page

Visa fee waived in regions

24 January 2019

The student contribution fee for dependants of 457 and 482 visa holders attending government schools in regional areas is being waived.

The move is expected to attract more foreign workers to settle or work in regional South Australia.

The exemption applies to all eligible students attending schools in regional areas and is effective from the 2019 school year.

Previously, skilled workers with a sub-class 457 and 482 visa were required to pay a student contribution fee. In 2019, fees can be up to $5,300 per primary school student and $6,400 per high school student.

The student contribution fee was introduced in 2017, with immediate effect, for newly arriving families and then was extended to all 457 and 482 visa holders from the beginning of 2018. 

The $350,000 investment is expected to benefit around 80 current regional students, but the decision is particularly expected to benefit regional businesses struggling to attract workers.

The full list of schools that qualify for the fee exemption are available at education.sa.gov.au.