Go to top of page

Keeping children safe from bullying conference

On 5 and 6 November a conference and workshop was held about keeping children safe in schools and the community.

The conference focused on a community approach to reducing the impact of bullying on children and young people. Over 900 people attended the conference, including educators and people who work with children and families in government, non-government, not-for-profit and community organisations. In the consultation workshop, over 200 selected attendees contributed to government responses about keeping children safe.

Specific conference sessions and speaker presentations are listed below. You can view the conference playlist on the department's YouTube channel. The conference program has all the details about speakers at the conference.

Welcome and keynotes – recordings and presentations

Welcome by Minister for Education, John Gardner.

It takes a village – preventing bullying through community and government partnerships.
Presented by Dr Wendy M Craig and Professor Marilyn Campbell.

Breakout sessions – recordings, presentations and other resources

Bullying of children with autism spectrum conditions

What do we know and what can we do?
Presented by Professor Neil Humphrey.

Addressing bullying from a trauma perspective

Presented by Dr Wendy M Craig.

Working together: a community in harmony

Presented by the Australian Universities’ Anti-Bullying Research Alliance.

How will this work?

Prevention and intervention of youth bullying and sexual violence: research informed strategies.
Presented by Dorothy L Espelage.

Panels – recordings and other resources

Bullying and the law: crime, punishment and beyond

Chair: Professor Rick Sarre, University of South Australia
Panel members: Professor Marilyn Campbell, Professor Des Butler, Matthew Keeley.

Same same but different

Chair: Trinh Mai, Department for Education.
Panel members: Professor Neil Humphrey, Associate Professor John Guenther, Dorothy L Espelage, Penny Wright.

Social?media and bullying

Chair: Sue Gabor, Office of the eSafety Commission.
Panel members: Wendy Craig, Lelia Green, Barbara Spears.

School gates and beyond – panel

Chair: Helen Connolly, South Australian Commissioner for Children and Young People.
Panel members: Professor Phillip Slee, Dr Grace Skrzypiece, Dr Lesley-Anne Ey.

Other resources not listed here

If you can’t find a resource mentioned at the conference, please contact us.

Engagement and Wellbeing

Email: education.engagementandwellbeing [at] sa.gov.au