Go to top of page

New north east secondary school

A new public secondary school will be built to meet growing enrolment demand in Adelaide’s north eastern suburbs.

School zone

Public consultation is now closed on the proposed zone for the new north eastern school. Thank you to everyone who provided feedback.

The department is working through your feedback to finalise the zones ahead of opening in 2023.

The proposed new zone will take in the suburbs of Hectorville and Rostrevor, and parts of Magill, Tranmere, Woodforde, Teringie, Montacute and Norton Summit.

The zones of Norwood Morialta High School, Marryatville High School and Charles Campbell College will change to relieve enrolment pressure and accommodate the new secondary school.

The zone will not affect surrounding primary school zones.

School naming process

Work is underway to find an original name that reflects the character of our new school’s community and local environment.

Thank you to everyone who submitted a name during the nomination process. We received over 200 nominations from the community.

All names will be compiled and shortlisted by an advisory group, that includes local school governing council chairs, with the final name being announced shortly.

Project scope

The school will be built on the site of the soon-to-be vacated Norwood Morialta High School Middle Campus. When complete, it will cater to 1200 students from year 7 to 12.

$84.4 million will be invested in the new secondary school in Adelaide’s north eastern suburbs to completely remove the site’s ageing buildings and replace them with contemporary learning facilities. The existing oval and soccer pitch will be retained.


The new school will be ready to accept year 7 enrolments in 2023, with a wider intake scheduled from 2024. A school zone and enrolment process will be announced prior to May 2022.

Families interested in enrolling their children for year 7 in 2023 can submit their registration of interest in term 2 2022. This will be part of the state-wide transition process for students starting secondary school.

New Schools Project Team

Phone: 8226 7417
Email: Education.NewSchools [at] sa.gov.au