Go to top of page

School Sports Awards


Logo for SA school sport The Advertiser and Messenger.

The School Sports Awards recognise and reward the outstanding sporting achievements of young people in our community. The awards are a joint initiative of The Advertiser, Messenger and the Department for Education.

Award categories

There will be 3 major award categories.


Individual female and male, rural and metropolitan, primary and secondary with 8 finalists awards.

Student officials

Individual female and male, primary and secondary with 4 finalist awards.


Female and male, primary and secondary with 4 finalist awards.

Presentation of awards

Congratulations to the award winners who were announced at the awards function in February 2021.

2020 winners

Category Name
Individual primary award William Brown
Individual secondary award Darcie Brown
Teams award Immanuel College
Student officials award Zack Brittan


2020 finalists

Individual primary female

Name School Sport
Alinta Dingwall Cummins Area School Swimming
Emilia Noriega Immanuel College Swimming
Kashiah Dixon-Miller Le Fevre Peninsula Primary School Netball and athletics
Jasmine Morgan McDonald Park School BMX
Layla Barbaro Woodville Gardens Primary School Football (soccer)

Individual primary male

Name School Sport
William Brown Magill School Cycling
Kegan Coulter Faith Lutheran School Swimming
Ollie Gear Lucindale Area School Motocross, enduro and athletics
Matthew Price North Haven Primary School Artistic roller skating
Khai Tran North Adelaide Primary School Swimming

Individual secondary female

Name School Sport
Demi Bates Henley High School Kayaking
Darcie Brown Henley High School Cricket, netball and Australian football
Kate Case Orroroo Area School Australian football
Connie Doupis Glossop High School Football and netball
Isabella Vincent Pembroke School Swimming

Individual secondary male

Name School Sport
Roshan Chandran Heathfield High School Fencing
Hayden Crowe Mt Gambier High School Athletics
Ethan Hutchinson Birdwood High School Gravity enduro mountain bike
Jesse Moore Sacred Heart College Marcellin Artistic gymnastics
Edward Winter Immanuel College Tennis


School Sport
Willunga Waldorf School Year 6/7 girls statewide football (soccer)
Aldgate Primary School Year 6/7 girls statewide netball
Immanuel College Open girls statewide basketball
Brighton Secondary School Open boys and girls volleyball

Student official

School Sport
Zack Brittan Golden Grove High School
Briahn Cammell Seaton High School
Jet Verwey Eastern Fleurieu School

Who can be nominated

Young people between the ages of 10 and 18 (ie turning 10 after 1 January 2020, or turning 18 on or before 31 December 2020), who are enrolled in a South Australian primary or secondary school are eligible.

A young person can be nominated for any noteworthy sporting achievement or service to sport as an individual within a school or club competition in South Australia. Similarly a school aged team can be nominated for any noteworthy sporting achievement.

Nominations are open to athletes from across metropolitan and rural South Australia.

How to nominate

Nominations have closed for the 2020 awards.

Conditions of entry

Anyone can nominate a young person for the School Sports Awards. The contact information of an appropriate coach, physical education instructor or teacher needs to be included on the form so that verification of details can be confirmed. Nominees agree to allow the use of their nomination details and photos for publicity purposes in print publications, department intranet, public websites and social media.

History of the awards

In 1997 the department and the Messenger introduced the sports awards to recognise outstanding sporting achievements of young people within schools. Originally the Youth Sports Awards, it was rebadged to the School Sports Awards in 2012 with 2 major categories, a primary school and a secondary school award. The primary school award is known as the Richard Newman Award – a past manager and long time Australian football Sapsasa coach who mentored hundreds of primary school students and encouraged life-long participation in sport.

Past winners include Olympic gold medallist, Kyle Chalmers, Paralympian Liam Bekric, Matilda’s football player Alexandra Childiac and Australian cricket player Amanda-Jade Wellington.

See a list of previous winners (PDF 300KB).

School Sport SA

Phone: 8416 5900
Email: education.schoolsportsa [at] sa.gov.au