Go to top of page

List of high bushfire risk schools and preschools

During the fire danger season (and other times as required) the Department for Education's emergency information hotline provides information regarding planned school closures as a result of bushfire activity.
Parents can phone 1800 000 279.
A messaging facility is available that is monitored out of hours.

The following list details schools and preschools that will close if their district has a catastrophic fire danger warning, as they have been identified as having high to extreme bushfire risk.

To confirm the current fire danger rating in each district visit the CFS website.

For quick navigation, press ctrl+f (or the Apple Key ‘⌘’ + f if you are using a Mac) then type in the name of your school, or select your fire ban district:

Adelaide Metropolitan

  • Gulfview Heights Primary School

Eastern Eyre

  • Cleve Area School
  • Cleve District Children’s Centre and Rural Care


  • Melrose Primary School
  • Orroroo Area School
  • Orroroo Kindergarten

Kangaroo Island

  • Kangaroo Island Community Education - Parndana Campus

Lower Eyre

  • Lake Wangary Preschool Centre
  • Lake Wangary Primary School
  • Lincoln Gardens Primary School
  • Poonindie Community Learning Centre + Kindergarten
  • Port Lincoln Children's Centre
  • Port Lincoln Special School (on Lincoln Gardens PS site)
  • Ungarra Primary School + Playcentre

Lower South East

  • Beachport Primary School + CPC
  • Frances Primary School
  • Glenburnie Primary School
  • Glencoe Central Primary School
  • Kalangadoo Primary School + Kindergarten
  • Kangaroo Inn Area School
  • Kongorong Primary School + CPC
  • Mount Burr Primary School
  • Nangwarry Primary School
  • Naracoorte High School
  • Rendelsham Primary School + Preschool

Mid North

  • Booborowie Primary School
  • Burra Community School
  • Brinkworth Primary School
  • Clare Primary School
  • Clare High School
  • Clare Valley Children’s Centre
  • Eudunda Community Preschool
  • Gladstone Primary School and Kindergarten
  • Koolunga Primary School
  • Manoora Primary School
  • Napperby Primary School + CPC
  • Saddleworth Primary School + ELC
  • Snowtown Kindergarten
  • Snowtown Primary School
  • Spalding Primary School + Playcentre
  • Tarlee Primary School

Mount Lofty Ranges

  • Arbury Park Outdoor School
  • Ashton Kindergarten
  • Basket Range Primary School
  • Belair Jean Bonython Kindergarten
  • Belair Primary School
  • Birdwood High School
  • Birdwood Primary School
  • Blackwood Kindergarten
  • Bridgewater Kindergarten
  • Bridgewater Primary School
  • Clarendon Kindergarten
  • Clarendon Primary School
  • Coromandel Valley Kindergarten
  • Coromandel Valley Primary School
  • Crafers Primary School
  • Craigburn Primary School
  • Eastern Fleurieu R-12 School - Ashbourne Campus
  • Echunga Primary School + CPC
  • Eden Hills Kindergarten
  • Eden Hills Primary School
  • Evanston Gardens Primary School
  • Flagstaff Hill Kindergarten
  • Flagstaff Hill R-7 School
  • Flagstaff Oval Kindergarten
  • Gumeracha Primary School
  • Hahndorf Primary School + CPC
  • Hawthorndene Primary School
  • Heathfield High School
  • Heathfield Primary School
  • Kangarilla Primary School
  • Kathleen Mellor Kindergarten
  • Kersbrook Primary School
  • Lenswood Primary School
  • Lobethal Primary School
  • Macclesfield Primary School
  • Mount Barker Kindergarten Inc
  • Mount Barker Primary School
  • Mount Compass Area School
  • Mount Compass Preschool Centre
  • Mount Torrens Primary School
  • Mount Pleasant Primary School
  • Mount Pleasant Kindergarten
  • Mylor Primary School
  • Nairne Primary School + CPC
  • Norton Summit Primary School
  • One Tree Hill Primary School
  • Paracombe Primary School
  • Rapid Bay Primary School
  • Sandy Creek Primary School
  • Scott Creek Primary School
  • Stirling District Kindergarten
  • Stirling East Kindergarten
  • Stirling East Primary School + Mt Lofty Area OSHC
  • Tea Tree Gully Primary School
  • Upper Sturt Primary School
  • Williamstown Primary School + CPC
  • Yankalilla Area School
  • Yankalilla Community Children's Centre


  • Blanchetown Primary School + Playcentre
  • Callington Primary School + Kindergarten
  • Cambrai Area School + CPC
  • Coomandook Area School
  • Jervois Primary School
  • Karoonda Area School + CPC
  • Keyneton Primary School
  • Lameroo and District Kindergarten
  • Lameroo Regional Community School


  • Cadell Primary School
  • Glossop Primary School
  • Morgan Primary School + Preschool

Upper South East

  • Coonalpyn Primary School

West Coast

  • Elliston Area School
  • Karcultaby Area School + CPC
  • Lock Area School
  • Miltaburra Area School + Children's Centre

Yorke Peninsula

  • Bute and District Kindergarten
  • Bute Primary School
  • Moonta Area School
  • Moonta Kindergarten
  • Central Yorke School - Point Pearce + CPC
  • Port Broughton Area School
  • Wallaroo Mines Primary School
  • Yorketown Area School


For information about your school's fire evacuation plans and audit rating, please contact them directly

For information about departmental processes contact:

Security and Emergency Management unit

Phone: 1800 000 279
Email: Education.SecurityIncident [at] sa.gov.au

Information about current fires or fire danger ratings can be found via:

Country Fire Service

CFS emergency hotline: 1800 362 361
Website: http://www.cfs.sa.gov.au/site/home.jsp​
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/countryfireservice
Twitter: @cfsalerts 

Department for Education Emergency Information Hotline

Phone: 1800 000 279