Go to top of page

First schools begin STEM Works planning

6 September 2016

The $250 million upgrade to science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) facilities in the state’s public schools is officially underway, with works beginning on the first 52 projects in September 2016.

Architects have begun visiting the 28 primary schools, 17 high schools and 7 R-12 schools that will be first to receive building and upgrade works.  Together, these schools cater for over 26,000 students.

The funding amounts are $1 million for primary schools, $2.5 million for secondary schools and $3.5 million for R-12 schools.  This investment to upgrade STEM facilities at 139 public schools across metropolitan and regional South Australia is part of the 2016-17 State Budget.

Metropolitan schools

  • Aberfoyle Park High School
  • Alberton Primary School
  • Birdwood High School
  • Blackwood High School
  • Brompton Primary School
  • Clapham Primary School
  • Elizabeth Downs Primary School
  • Elizabeth Vale Primary School
  • Forbes Primary School
  • Heathfield High School
  • Hendon Primary School
  • Henley High School
  • Keller Road Primary School
  • Largs Bay School
  • Le Fevre Peninsula Primary School
  • Mitcham Girls High School
  • Mitcham Primary School
  • Modbury West School
  • North Haven School
  • Ocean View P-12 College
  • O'Sullivan Beach Primary School
  • Para Hills High School
  • Para Hills School P-7
  • Paradise Primary School
  • Parafield Gardens High School
  • Parkside Primary School
  • Playford International College
  • Pimpala Primary School
  • Salisbury East High School
  • Seaview High School
  • Thorndon Park Primary School
  • Torrensville Primary School
  • Unley High School
  • Urrbrae Agricultural High School
  • West Beach Primary School
  • West Lakes Shore School R-7
  • William Light R-12
  • Willunga High School
  • Wirreanda Secondary School
  • Woodville Primary School
  • Wynn Vale R-7 School

Regional schools

  • Bordertown High School
  • Ceduna Area School
  • Cowandilla Primary School
  • Cummins Area School
  • Freeling Primary School
  • Keith Area School
  • Moonta Area School
  • Murray Bridge North School
  • Naracoorte High School
  • Port Pirie West Primary School
  • Roxby Downs Area School

View the full list of 139 schools receiving STEM Works funding.

View the program information.