Go to top of page

Solar power installation

Forty two schools have received $250,000 in program funding to install solar panels. To support the installation of the solar panels, energy efficient improvements including lighting upgrades, timers and building controls will be implemented to reduce electricity consumption.

The solar installations and energy efficiency improvements will also provide learning tools to allow schools to incorporate renewable energy and energy efficiency into the curriculum.

Low Carbon Schools

Solar technology produces electricity without burning fossil fuels during generation.

By using electricity generated from solar panels schools will help reduce carbon emissions, working towards SA Government targets for efficiency and net zero emissions.

Schedule of works

The SSP has been developed in stages due to the number of schools participating in the program. A full list of schools (PDF 296KB) included in the program is available.

Stage 1

The following 10 schools are progressing with the installation of solar panels, expected to be completed by the end of January 2018:

  • Urrbrae Agricultural High School
  • Birdwood High School
  • Magill School
  • Gawler and District College B-12
  • Paralowie School
  • Aberfoyle Park High School
  • Blackwood High School
  • Unley High School
  • Seaford Secondary College
  • Hamilton Secondary College.

Stage 1 Update

The installation of solar panels at Magill School and Birdwood High School was completed in November 2017 (see below) and further projects are expected to be completed by the end of 2017.

Stage 2

An Expression of Interest (EOI) was run by the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure (DPTI) for the solar projects at the remaining 30 schools, and has now closed. Successful respondents are being engaged through standard procurement processes as per the Across Government Facilities Management Arrangements (AGFMA) and contractors will need to be prequalified providers with DPTI Facilities Services and Spotless.

All stage 2 solar projects are expected to be complete by June 2018.

Stage 3

The following 8 schools have been included in the SSP and solar projects will be progressing as a priority. All stage 3 solar projects are expected to be completed by June 2018 in line with stage 2.

  • Adelaide High School
  • Adelaide Secondary School of English
  • Brighton Secondary School
  • Charles Campbell College
  • Glenunga International High School
  • Marryatville High School
  • Reynella East College
  • Thebarton Senior College


Asset Standards and Environmental Management

For enquiries regarding standards 

Phone: 8226 0091 

Email: education.standards [at] sa.gov.au  


For enquiries regarding sustainable infrastructure 

Phone: 8226 3497 

Email: education.environment [at] sa.gov.au