Go to top of page

Special options pathways

Twenty five additional special options pathways will be established in schools and preschools across the state as part of a $10m strategy aimed at creating and improving services for children and young people with disability.

Major upgrades will be undertaken at Gawler District College and Blakeview Primary throughout next year to accommodate disability unit classes.

This investment will provide improved opportunities for early intervention and access to additional education pathways in their local area.

View a list of the new special options or access full lists of the special schools, special units and special classes.

Determining the location of the options

Extensive consultations were undertaken to identify areas of high demand and where special options pathways could be improved.

Both Department for Education and external data along with feedback from schools, preschools, student support services and local education offices helped to determine where the new special options pathways would provide the most benefit.

Data that was considered included recommended vs actual placement, statewide maps, primary disability impairment types, levels of support (by both site enrolment and geographical suburb), special options enrolment capacity and facilities as well as birth rates and demographics.

Education regions were asked to submit proposals for new special option pathways. These proposals were considered by an internal committee to determine their feasibility and when they could be implemented.

Factors such as demand for places, part time vs full time, facilities, student needs and existing pathways were taken into consideration.


The special class, disability unit or special school placement process is used to determine enrolments in special options. For further information about the process and the eligibility criteria used to access an option, please contact your school or preschool.

Placement in a special option will be dependent on available vacancies and student priority and offers will be made before the start of the 2017 school year. Children and young people whose placements changed in term 3 and 4 this year will be given priority.

Student Support Services and schools will work with the families of children and young people who are not placed with a special option to ensure they are supported with appropriate curriculum and resourcing within a mainstream setting.

Students currently participating in a special class, unit or at a special school will be able to request to transfer to a new option from 2018.

Transport assistance will be available to families who meet National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) criteria.

Speak with your child’s preschool or school for more information.

Additional options in 2017


Type of special option

Glossop Special School

Senior secondary special class

Findon High School

Secondary special class

Gawler District College

Junior primary and primary special class (commence in 2018)

Gawler District College

Secondary disability unit classes (to commence in 2018)

Balaklava High School

Secondary special class

Murray Bridge High School

Secondary special class (ASD focus)

Willow Close Preschool

Inclusive preschool program

Victor Harbor High School

Secondary special class

Lonsdale Heights Primary School

Primary special class

Blakeview Primary School

Disability unit

Madison Park Primary School

Junior primary special class

Roma Mitchell Secondary College

Secondary special class

Madison Park Primary School

Primary special class

Port Augusta West Preschool

Inclusive preschool program

Port Augusta Secondary School

Secondary special class

Roxby Downs Area School

Secondary special class

Augusta Park Primary School

Primary special class

Port Lincoln High School

Learning intervention  class

Port Lincoln Primary School

Primary special class (ASD focus)

Ceduna Area School

Secondary special class

Stuart High School

Secondary special class

Nicolson Avenue Primary School

Junior primary special class

Clare High School

Disability unit

Moonta Area School

Junior primary special class (to commence in term 2 2017)

John Pirie Secondary College

Secondary special class

The Students with Disability Additional Pathways Strategy is part of the South Australian School and Preschool Staff Enterprise Agreement which was introduced in May 2016. The additional funding for the Learning Difficulties Grant (LDG) and the Preschool Support Program were provided to schools and preschools in June 2016 and the $5m for the new special option pathways will be allocated before June 2017.


Disability Policy and Programs

Phone: 8226 0521
Email: education.dpp [at] sa.gov.au