Go to top of page

School Sports Awards

The School Sports Awards recognise and reward the outstanding sporting achievements of young people in our community. The awards are a joint initiative of the Messenger and the Department for Education, in conjunction with Sport SA.

Award details

There will be 2 major award categories – a primary school award (also known as the Richard Newman Award) and a secondary school award.

This year’s award winners will be presented at the South Australian Sports Awards at Adelaide Oval on Friday 22 November 2019.

Before this event, 3 preliminary judging sessions will take place. At these sessions male and female finalists from 5 regions (eastern, southern, western, northern Adelaide, and rural) will go into the running for the major awards.

Who can be nominated

Young people between the ages of 10 and 18 (ie turning 10 after 1 January 2019, or turning 18 on or before 31 December 2019) who are enrolled in a South Australian primary or secondary school are eligible.

A young person can be nominated for any noteworthy sporting achievement as an individual within a school or club competition in South Australia.

Nominations are open to athletes from across metropolitan and rural South Australia.

How to nominate

Nominations have closed.

Awards and prizes

Successful preliminary judging nominees will receive a certificate of merit and may receive recognition in their local Messenger newspaper.

The overall winner will receive a trophy and the finalist will receive a certificate.

Conditions of entry

Anyone can nominate a young person for the School Sports Awards. The contact information of an appropriate coach, physical education instructor or teacher needs to be included on the form so that verification of details can be confirmed. Nominees agree to allow the use of their nomination details and photos for publicity purposes in print publications, department intranet, public websites and social media.

History of the awards

In 1997 the department and the Messenger introduced the sports awards to recognise outstanding sporting achievements of young people within schools. Originally the Youth Sports Awards, it was rebadged to the School Sports Awards in 2012 with two major categories, a primary school and a secondary school award. The primary school award is known as the Richard Newman Award – a past manager and long time Australian football Sapsasa coach who mentored hundreds of primary school students and encouraged life-long participation in sport.

Past winners include Olympic gold medallist Kyle Chalmers, Paralympian Liam Beckric, Matilda's football player Alix Childiac and Australian cricket player Amanda-Jade Wellington.

See a list of previous winners (PDF 300KB).


School Sport SA

Phone: 8416 5900
Email: education.schoolsportsa [at] sa.gov.au