Go to top of page

Aunty Josie Agius Award

On this page


Joanne Smith

Preschool director, Port Lincoln Children's Centre

As a leader of an integrated long day care and preschool service since 2007, Joanne has established a strong sense of belonging and cultural connectedness for the Aboriginal families of the Port Lincoln area. She has worked extensively with a broad range of inter-agency support networks to build the centre’s capacity and attend to the health of the children.


Donna Kartinyeri

Aboriginal secondary education transition officer, Para Hills School P-7 and Para Hills High School

Donna is a Wiradjuri/Kamilaroi woman from Gilgandra NSW. Donna has been working within the department since 2005 as an Aboriginal secondary education transition officer and has always been highly involved with children’s schooling. Donna is also on several parent committees and is a governing council member. She works across 2 sites; Para Hills School P-7 and Para Hills High School.

Trenna Frankiw

Aboriginal community education officer, Elizabeth North Primary School

Trenna is a Narungga/Kokatha descendant and has been working at Elizabeth North Primary School for 5 years as the Aboriginal community education officer. She aims to increase community involvement within the school and promote a strong, positive cultural identity for students. Trenna strives to identify students’ needs, working with families and staff to support greater learning, social and wellbeing outcomes through guidance and local community connections.


Public Education Awards

Phone: 8226 2339
Emailpubliceducationawards [at] sa.gov.au