Go to top of page

Teachers Health Leadership Award

On this page


Antoinette Jones

Principal, Mitcham Girls High School

Antoinette’s leadership has transformed Mitcham Girls High School into a community that is dedicated to providing outstanding educational opportunities to all girls. She set about change by working with parents, staff, students and other community members to define the school’s values of respect, excellence and global citizenship and then ensured these were embedded throughout its culture and curriculum.

With a focus on continuous improvement, the school has embarked on a number of programs to improve student wellbeing, leadership and achievement including 2 programs for gifted students. The school’s Literacy for Learning program has led to its literacy results being the highest of any school in the Southern Region and, through the Leadership Program, many students have represented Australia in various international competitions and conferences.


Kate Drew

Preschool Director, Burton Park Preschool

Kate ensures children get a great start in education by building their social intelligence and skilling them with an extended vocabulary to set them on the path of life-long success. As the leader of Burton Park Preschool, a large early learning centre which works with a community of 165 families, Kate believes strong literacy skills and a child’s wellbeing is uniquely intertwined in establishing a strong sense of self.

Her professional approach invests deeply in research and data analysis and her learning achievement data shows that 79% of the centre’s children reach the top two levels of Teaching Rating of Oral Language Literacy by the end of their preschool year. Kate is a strong advocate of her staff’s professional development and she consults within her portfolio to ensure best teaching practice is shared and celebrated.

Lee Munn

Preschool Director, Lobethal Community Kindergarten

Lee is a passionate educator, who specialises in developing world-class outdoor learning experiences for children at Lobethal Community Kindergarten. Her Nature-Connect Bush Kindy program evolved from a challenge she initially set her staff to remove toys from their learning environment and replace them with tools and challenges that enhance problem-solving and emotional resilience.

The program is considered best-practice in nature play and has garnered international attention with educators travelling from Iceland, Korea and the Philippines to experience it first-hand. Lee has since shared her approach with more than a thousand educators, encouraging them to be present, reflective and critical in their interactions with children, the community and the environment.


Public Education Awards

Phone: 8226 2339
Emailpubliceducationawards [at] sa.gov.au