Go to top of page

Morialta Secondary College

A new public secondary school will be built to meet growing enrolment demand in Adelaide’s north eastern suburbs.

The school will be built on the site of the soon-to-be vacated Norwood Morialta High School Middle Campus. When complete, it will cater to 1200 students from year 7 to 12.

$84.4 million will be invested in the new secondary school in Adelaide’s north eastern suburbs to completely remove the site’s ageing buildings and replace them with contemporary learning facilities. The existing oval and soccer pitch will be retained.

School name 

The new school will be named Morialta Secondary College. 

The name was chosen with input from a panel of local educators and more than 200 members of the public who made suggestions. Thank you to everyone who contributed to naming the new school. 

School zone

Public consultation is now closed on the proposed zone for the new north eastern school. Thank you to everyone who provided feedback.

The department is working through your feedback to finalise the zones ahead of opening in 2023.

The proposed new zone will take in the suburbs of Hectorville and Rostrevor, and parts of Magill, Tranmere, Woodforde, Teringie, Montacute and Norton Summit.

The zones of Norwood Morialta High School, Marryatville High School and Charles Campbell College will change to relieve enrolment pressure and accommodate the new secondary school.

The zone will not affect surrounding primary school zones.


The new school will be ready to accept year 7 enrolments in 2023, with a wider intake scheduled from 2024. A school zone and enrolment process will be announced prior to May 2022.

Families interested in enrolling their children for year 7 in 2023 can submit their registration of interest in term 2 2022. This will be part of the state-wide transition process for students starting secondary school.

Architect and builder 

Architect: Thomson Rossi and Brown Falconer

Builder: to be appointed

New Schools Project Team

Phone: 8226 7417
Email: Education.NewSchools [at] sa.gov.au