Go to top of page

SA’s public education role models revealed

2 September 2021

Having the education of children and young people at the heart of everything they do, the long list of finalists for the 2021 Public Education Awards showcases the diversity and strength of the South Australian workforce at its best.

Spread across a range of categories, the 33 finalists are all high performing professionals in their field, driving South Australia towards its goal of becoming one of the best education systems in the world.

Their achievements range from creating specialised programs supporting localised student needs to successfully implementing and leading key measures for system-wide improvement. 

Finalists and winners will be awarded grants to undertake professional learning or activities. Winners of each category receive $10,000 and 2 finalists for each category receive $2,000.

Winners will be announced an awards ceremony in November.

Find out more about the awards and 2021 finalists on our Public Education Awards page.

The 2021 Public Education Awards finalists are:

Early Years Leader of the Year Award
Margie Colton, Bertram Hawker Kindergarten
Sally Wuttke, Nuriootpa Community Children’s Centre
Jane Moore, Aldinga Beach Children’s Centre

Primary Leader of the Year Award
Dina Zunis, North Ingle School
Gael Little, East Torrens Primary School
Julie Murphy, Elizabeth Vale Primary School

Secondary Leader of the Year Award
Nikola Haskell, The Grove Education Centre
Ruth Mussger, Murray Bridge High School
Heather Makris, Birdwood High School 

Early Years Teacher of the Year Award
Coralie Dixon, Barmera Kindergarten
Ashley Gregory, Flinders Children’s Centre and Tji Tji Wiltja Preschool
Deborah Walsh, Paradise Kindergarten 

Credit Union SA Primary Teacher of the Year Award
Nicole Chataway, Yalata Anangu School
Jessie Plisko, Willsden Primary School
Liana McCurry, Ardtornish Primary School

Secondary Teacher of the Year Award
Sue Pratt, Balaklava High School
Faith Brohier, Brighton Secondary School
Jodi Long, Renmark High School

Inclusive Teacher of the Year (Disability) Award
Jessica Daniel, Balaklava High School
Kirsten Mooney, Mount Barker Primary
Ali McLarty, Adelaide Botanic High School

University of South Australia Team Teaching Award
Entrepreneurial Teaching Team, Grant High School
Enhanced Learning Hub, Balaklava High School
Centre of Deaf Education Team, Avenues College

Site-based Support Award
Jo Hann, Hackham West Children’s Centre
Urumbula Program, John Pirie Secondary School
Aboriginal Education, Paralowie R-12 School

System Support Award
Curriculum Resources, Curriculum and Learning
Perspective, People and Culture
Phonics Screening Check, Curriculum and Learning 

Community Engagement Award
Reconciliation in Action, Port Elliot Kindergarten
Karena Wilson, Crystal Brook Kindergarten
Celeste Raymond, Melaleuca Park Primary School