Go to top of page

Face-to-face training for governing councils

Some governing or school councils can benefit from specific training. This can be helpful when new people join or when complex issues need to be discussed.

The free training is delivered to partnership regions instead of individual sites.

Governing council members, site leaders and other relevant and interested people are encouraged to come along.

What is covered

  • governance vs management
  • role and functions of governing councils
  • membership composition
  • office bearers
  • committees
  • meeting procedures
  • legal obligations and conflict of interest
  • dispute mediation
  • information privacy principles
  • engagement vs consultation vs representation.

How much time

The session usually takes about 2 hours.

Registrations

To register, email decd.sitegovernance [at] sa.gov.au.

When and where

Date and time

Start time

Partnership region

Venue

Registration due date

Wednesday 8 August 2018
Week 3, Term 3

6.00pm

Whyalla

Edward John Eyre High School
1/35 Grundel St, Whyalla Norrie SA 5608

Friday 3 August 2018

Tuesday 28 August 2018
Week 6, Term 3

6.00pm Blue Lake

Moorak Primary School
Yells Road, Moorak SA 5291

Friday 24 August 2018

Wednesday 29 August 2018
Week 6, Term 3

6.00pm

Coorong and Mallee

Tintinara Area School
37 Wendt Terrace, 
Tintinara SA 5266

Friday 24 August 2018

Wednesday 12 September 2018
Week 8, Term 3

6.00pm Mount Lofty Lenswood Primary School
1554 Main Road, Lenswood SA 5240
Friday 7 September 2018
Wednesday 26 September 2018
Week 10, Term 3
6.00pm Renmark Loxton Loxton Primary School
Pyap Street, Loxton SA 5333

Friday 21 September 2018

Wednesday 24 October 2018
Week 2, Term 4

5.30pm Flinders Peterborough High School
Queen Street
Peterborough SA 5422
Friday 3 August 2018

Contact

Governing Councils, Office for Education and Early Childhood

Phone: 8226 9617
EmailEducation.sitegovernance [at] sa.gov.au