Go to top of page

Premier's Anzac Spirit School Prize

Applications are now open for the 2022 Anzac Spirit School Prize. Enter by Friday, 27 May 2022 at 5.00pm.

The Premier's Anzac Spirit School Prize provides young South Australians with the opportunity to examine and empathise with the remarkable sacrifices of South Australian service men and women during the 20th century.

The prize is open to all South Australian students in Years 9 and 10.

About the prize and study tour

This prize has been conducted since 2007. Students who are awarded the prize are invited to participate in a state government fully funded study tour.

The selection process involves a submission entry and then an interview for students who are shortlisted.

The students are accompanied on the study tour by:

  • a representative of the Department for Education
  • appointed teachers
  • a representative of the SA Branch of the Returned and Services League (RSL SA) of Australia.

Teachers can apply to accompany the study tour if they have worked directly with students who entered the Premier’s Anzac Spirit School Prize in 2022.

2022 Premier’s Anzac Spirit School Prize

The prize is open to South Australian students in year 9 and 10.

Each school can submit up to 4 entries. Entries are due by Friday, 27 May 2022 at 5.00pm.

Students can also enter via a community group, such as the Australian Defence Forces cadets. This entry must be submitted through the student's school and can be in addition to the 4 regular school entries.

Entry details

To enter, students are required to respond to the following 2 questions, as well as writing a personal statement. Entries will be judged on the structure and clarity of their responses for Parts A and B.

The responses can be in either of the following formats:

  1. A written piece of up to 2000 words (presented as a typed document).
  2. A multi-media presentation of up to 6 minutes (submitted on a USB).

All entries forwarded must be accompanied by the student entry and declaration form (PDF 3.9MB).

Part A (maximum 1500 words)

Worth: 15 marks.

Using a range of sources, research the experience of a South Australian serviceman or servicewoman who served during World War 1 and/or World War 2 (Navy, Army, Air Force, Nursing or other service duties).

  1. Describe his or her background and life before departing for war (2 marks).
  2. Describe his or her service during the relevant world war/s and the circumstances of their death or their life after the war/s (5 marks).
  3. Use a range of primary and secondary sources such as photographs, maps, artefacts, diary entries, books and archival materials and ensure that they are correctly cited in the list of references. (4 marks).
  4. Using evidence drawn from your research, explain how your individual reflected the Anzac Spirit characteristics of perseverance and mateship (4 marks).

Part B (maximum 500 words)

Worth: 5 marks.

How did you gather the evidence about your individual in order to tell their story? In your response, explain the process you undertook when researching your individual.

Personal statement (maximum 500 words)

On a separate page, students are required to write a personal statement highlighting their:

  • involvement in the community
  • extra-curricular contributions to the school
  • interest in history.

How to enter

Entries must be submitted by Friday, 27 May 2022 at 5.00pm. Late entries will not be accepted.

To enter, schools need to:

Premier’s Anzac Spirit School Prize
GPO Box 1152
Adelaide SA 5001

Teacher applications

Teachers will also be selected to accompany the students on the study tour. Teachers are eligible to apply if they have worked directly with students entering the 2022 Premier’s Anzac Spirit School Prize.

Teacher application form (PDF 3.7MB)

Previous awardees

Awardees for 2021

The 2021 Premier’s Anzac Spirit School Prize awardees have been invited to participate in the State Government’s fully funded study tour to Darwin and the Top End of Australia in April 2022.

The 2021 awardees are:

  • Annabel Arbon – Endeavour College
  • Matthew Boyd – Investigator College - Victor Harbor Campus
  • Saffron Chen – St Peter's Collegiate Girls' School
  • Aidan Chong – Saint Ignatius' College
  • Cynole Sony – Glenunga International High School
  • Lara Dawson – Adelaide Botanic High School
  • Jessica Grasser – Golden Grove High School
  • Nicholas Heinrich – Central Yorke School
  • Eleanor Humphrey – St Peter's Collegiate Girls' School
  • Jessica Inglis – Loxton High School
  • Dakota Lloyd – Loxton High School
  • Ezra Lockwood – Horizon Christian School
  • Gemma Mann – Endeavour College
  • Jennifer Nguyen – Our Lady of Sacred Heart College
  • Abbey O’Donnell – Wirreanda Secondary School
  • Sadie Schultz – Saint Ignatius' College
  • Max Thomas – Prince Alfred College 
  • Olivia Turner – Adelaide Botanic High School
  • Madeline Wirth – Kingston Community School
  • Bethany Yates – St Martin’s College.

The teachers selected to accompany the students are:

  • Janine Fedorchuk-Weeks – Birdwood High School
  • Jodie O’Donnell – Investigator College, Victor Harbor.

The RSL SA delegate on the 2021 prize study tour is Dr Paula Dabovich.

Previous awardee entries

Visit winning entries on the Virtual War Memorial Australia website to see Premier’s Anzac Spirit School Prize awardee entries since 2015.

The individuals profiled in these winning entries cannot be submitted again.

More information

If you would like more information or have any questions, email anzacschoolprize@sa.gov.au.

Or contact:

Malcolm McInerney
Manager, Premier's Anzac Spirit School Prize
Curriculum Programs, Curriculum and Learning Division
Phone: 0437 249 200
Email: malcolm.mcinerney@sa.gov.au

Curriculum Support - ANZAC School Prize

EmailANZACSchoolPrize [at] sa.gov.au