Go to top of page

Students awarded Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize

Black and white photos of women who served in the armed forces.
15 August 2022

More than 600 students have taken part in the 2022 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize competition, with 20 Year 9 and 10 students from across the state selected to attend a 12-day study tour to Darwin and the Top End of Australia in April 2023 to coincide with Anzac Day.

The Premier’s ANZAC Sprit School Prize provides the opportunity for young South Australians to examine and empathise with the remarkable sacrifices of South Australian service men and women during the 20th century.

Taking part in the competition gives teachers a chance to provide an authentic research task as part of the compulsory History depth study of World War 1 for Year 9 students and World War 2 for Year 10 students in the Australian Curriculum.

The competition involves students researching a South Australian service man or woman who served during World War 1 or 2. Students also had to discuss how the individual they researched demonstrated the characteristics of the Anzac spirit.

Student work was judged by the depth of research involved and the written quality of the piece.

Through the trip to the Northern Territory in April 2023, the selected students will delve deeper into the history, geography and politics of Australia’s involvement in the global conflicts of the 20th Century.

2022 Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize recipients:

  • Aston Joshy – Aberfoyle Park High School
  • Kyriakos Lattas – Adelaide Botanic High School
  • Vinka Lakic – Endeavour College
  • Tovie Hallion – Golden Grove High School
  • Olivia Brook – Kadina Memorial School
  • Lara Braithwaite – Kingston Community School 
  • Charlotte Lockwood – Horizon College
  • Emily McPherson – Investigator College
  • Emma Choi – Loreto College 
  • Alexandra Seal – Loreto College 
  • Kenzie King – Loxton High School
  • William Simes – Loxton High School
  • Hannah Rowlands – Mount Compass Area School
  • Amelie Martin – Mitcham Girls High School
  • Ella Tanti – Mitcham Girls High School
  • Eman Alaboody – Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College (OLSH)
  • Sahibjot Kaur – Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College (OLSH)
  • Ned Uren – Saint Ignatius College
  • Olivia De Angelis – Saint Ignatius College
  • Maliky Wilson – Seaton High School