Go to top of page

New Whyalla School

A new $100 million state-of-the-art secondary school will be built in Whyalla to accommodate 1500 students in Years 7 to 12.

The new school will be located on Nicolson Avenue in Whyalla Norrie in between the UniSA and TAFE campuses, forming an education precinct to provide students with strong links to further study options. This brand new 7-12 school will replace Whyalla’s 3 existing high school campuses, which are Edward John Eyre High, Whyalla High and Stuart High.

Significant stakeholder consultation was undertaken by the Department to inform plans for the school. The new school will be designed to reflect contemporary education environments and will focus on supporting future skills needs that lead to jobs.

The build will be managed by the state government as a Capital Works project through a competitive tender process. 

The new school is expected to be complete for the first students to commence in 2022.

More information will be provided as plans develop further.

Whyalla Educational Review Committee

As part of the process for considering the amalgamation of the 3 existing government schools into a new school, the Minister for Education established a Whyalla Education Review Committee to undertake a review into the future secondary school needs of Whyalla.

The review addressed the following areas:

  • present and future requirements of secondary education in Whyalla
  • present and future use of the existing Whyalla secondary schools
  • education, social and economic needs of Whyalla’s education community. 

As part of the review, the committee called for submissions from the community. Submissions were open from 26 October to 9 November 2018, with a significant amount of submissions received from a wide cross-section of the community. Views put forward on the social, economic and educational impacts for Whyalla were thoroughly considered by the committee, who are now finalising their review report.


New Schools Project Team

Phone: 8226 1037
Email: Education.NewSchools [at] sa.gov.au