Go to top of page

Mountain bike team's championship

The mountain bike championship is a team's only event for 2022. Find out more about the event and how students can enter.

Who can participate

To ride in the event, students (riders) must be

  • enrolled at an affiliated school
  • be in years 5 to 12

Where and when

Craigburn Farm Trails, Craigburn Road, Blackwood on

  • Thursday 5 May 2022 for years 5 and 6 teams
  • Friday 6 May 2022 for years 7 to 12 teams

The schedules may be changed closer to the event.


Thursday 5 May 2022 year 5 and 6 teams schedule

  • 10.30am - gates and registrations open
  • 11.45am - race briefing
  • 12noon - race starts
  • 2pm - race finishes
  • 2.15pm - presentations

Friday 6 May year 7 to 12 teams schedule

  • 7.30am - gates open
  • 7.45am - registrations open for all teams and will close prior to the race starting for all teams
  • 8.45am - year 7 and 8 teams race briefing
  • 9.am - year 7 and 8 race starts
  • 11am - year 7 and 8 race finishes
  • 11.15am - year 7 and 8 presentations
  • 12.15pm - year 9 and 10, year 11 and 12 race briefings
  • 12.30pm - year 9 and 10, year 11 and 12 races start
  • 3pm - year 9 and 10, year 11 and 12 races finish
  • 3.15pm - year 9 and 10, year 11 and 12 presentations

Event format

  • Teams aim to complete as many laps as they can within time limit.
  • The final lap must by completed within the time limit to be counted towards the teams result.
  • Teams should aim to spread the amount of riding evenly across team members. Team managers or supervisors must monitor this.
  • Lower year levels will ride shorter laps, for shorter duration than the older year levels.

Race times

Proposed race times are

  • year 5 and 6 teams ride for 2 hours
  • year 7 and 8 teams ride for 2 hours
  • year 9 to 12 teams ride for 2.5 hours

Team categories


  • Years 5 and 6
  • Years 7 and 8
  • Years 9 and 10
  • Year 11 and 12


  • Year 5 and 6
  • Year 7 and 8
  • Year 9 and 10
  • Year 11 and 12


  • Year 5 and 6
  • Year 7 and 8
  • Year 9 and 10
  • Year 11 and 12

Categories with less than 3 teams entered will be combined with other age groups.

Team size

Teams can be made up of either

  • 2 riders.
  • 3 riders.
  • 4 riders.

As a guide team sizes can be based on

  • 4 person team: for less experienced or less competitive riders.
  • 3 person team: for riders with good fitness levels and skills.
  • 2 person team: for club level riders with high levels of experience, skills and fitness

The course

Proposed course maps can be viewed with the Ride With GPS links or the pdf maps below. Course are subject to change at any time.

Rider safety and equipment requirements

  • Riders must wear an approved bike helmet during the race.
  • Riders must wear suitable covered shoes.
  • Safety gear is recommended and encouraged.
  • Handle bar ends must be plugged for safety.
  • A full functional mountain bike with with front and rear brakes and gears is required for the event.
  • Riders must wear a school shirt such as PE uniform or sports shirt.
  • For safety reasons riders must have suitable off-road bike handling skills.
  • Bikes can be shared between team members with 1 race plate issued.
  • Riders must wear their own gloves, helmets, glasses and any other equipment.
  • Riders must not share drink bottles.
  • E-bikes are not allowed on the course at any stage during the event unless ridden by a race official.

Extreme weather conditions

If the weather forecast is for .

  • extreme high or low temperatures
  • lightning
  • hail
  • severe flooding
  • fire danger

the event may be modified or cancelled. Schools will be notified as soon as possible.

Entry fee

$15.00 including GST per student nominated. 

An additional $15.00 including GST will be charged for replacement of race plates or transponders if not returned at the end of the event. 

No payment is required on the day. A tax invoice will be sent to schools after the event.


  • Catering facilities will be provided
  • Parking locations will be advised.

How to enter

Nominations have closed for the 2022 mountain bike championships.

Volunteer marshals

Teachers and parents attending are encouraged to be roaming marshals who ride or walk the course during the race. Indicate on the nomination form parents who can help.

Presentations and results

  • Presentations will be held after the race finishes.
  • Medals will be presented for first, second and third in each category.
  • Results will be posted as soon as possible after the event.

Overall schools' trophy

  • One point is awarded for all riders that participate.
  • The top 3 in each category will receive an additional
    • 10 points for first place
    • 5 points for second place
    • 3 points for third place

Aims of participating at the event

The mountain bike team's championship provides an

  • opportunity to compete against other South Australian students in an unique context.
  • enjoyable, life-long, movement-based learning experience in a natural setting 

Opportunities for student officials

Students can receive recognition for taking on official's roles at this event.

Schools can contact us on the details below for certificates that list the learning outcomes from officiating at the event.

Previous results and history

Overall school previous winners

2020   St John's Grammar School

2019   St John's Grammar School

2018   St John's Grammar School

2017   Urrbrae Agricultural High School

2016   St John's Grammar School

2015   Pembroke School

2014   Pembroke School

2013   Pembroke School

2012   Pembroke School

2011   Brighton Secondary School

2010   Pembroke School

2009   Sacred Heart College

2008   Sacred Heart College

2007   Sacred Heart College - Middle School

2006   Westminster School

2005   Westminster School

2004   Westminster School

2003   Marryatville High School

2002   Marryatville High School

2001   Marryatville High School

2000   Marryatville High School

1999   Blackwood High School


School Sport SA

Phone: 8416 5900
Email: education.schoolsportsa [at] sa.gov.au