Go to top of page

12 years and under netball state teams

On this page

This page explains how to nominate for selection in the 12 years and under netball state teams to compete at the School Sport Australia championships in 2023. For 2023 there will be a School Sport Australia boys invitational 12 years and under netball championship which will run alongside the 12 years and under girls netball championship and South Australia will be entering a team.

Who can nominate for selection

To nominate for selection, students must be:

  • enrolled at an affiliated school.
  • born in 2011, 2012, 2013.

Where and when

Perth, Western Australia from Saturday 9 to Friday 15 September 2023

Travel dates may vary due to flight availability.

Team officials

  • Boys coach - Judy Greenwood, Netball SA/School Sport SA
  • Boys team manager - Bryce Wait, Morialta Secondary College
  • Girls coach - Alice Johnswood, School Sport SA
  • Girls team manager - Bec Martin, Paringa Park Primary School

The team will be under the supervision of the team officials to meet supervision ratios.

How to nominate for trials

A trial cost of $10 inc GST is to be paid when nominating online. This is non-refundable. Complete the nomination form by

  • Wednesday 21 June for the boys team.
  • Wednesday 10 May for the girls team.

You will receive a confirmation email within 2 business days once your nomination has been processed. Your school will also be sent a copy as a confirmation of your nomination. Your school has the right to not approve a child's involvement based on behaviour, attendance and other grounds as determined by the school.

Trial details


The trial will be held at the Purruna Spencer-Newton Centre, Scotch College, Blythwood Road, Torrens Park on Sunday 25 June 1.30pm to 3.30pm.

A second trial will be held if required with details to be advised.


For all trials, arrive 30 minutes prior to the start time to check in.

Country school students will trial at Walford Anglican School for Girls 316 Unley Road, Hyde Park on

  • Sunday 14 May 2pm to 5pm
  • Sunday 28 May 2pm to 5pm

Metropolitan school students will trial at Netball SA Stadium 155 Railway Tce, Mile End on

  • Sunday 21 May 2pm to 5pm
  • Sunday 4 June 2pm to 5pm

Students will then be invited to attend the remaining trials on

  • Sunday 18 June at Walford Anglican School for Girls 2pm to 5pm
  • Sunday 25 June at Walford Anglican School for Girls 2pm to 5pm
  • Tuesday 27 June at Netball SA Stadium 4pm to 6.30pm
  • Sunday 2 July at Walford Anglican School for Girls 2pm to 5pm.

Selection process

Students will be involved in drills and competitive scenarios to select the team based on:

  • ability and game sense in the sport.
  • willingness to listen and learn from feedback.
  • teamwork.
  • level of skill and sport knowledge.
  • fitness level and effort.
  • positive attitude at trials and school.
  • demonstration of being a good sport and behaviour on and off the playing arena.

Parental permission must be obtained to be selected to attend the championships.

School endorsement

Selection in a School Sport SA state team requires endorsement from the student's school principal before confirming their place in the team. Therefore, parents are advised not to make any arrangements that incur costs until the school has confirmed that the student fulfils all requirements.

Training and championship expectations

All selected team members will be required to attend all team trainings and a team photo shoot.

Country team members travelling more than 2 hours can negotiate their commitment.

The selected student agrees to attend the competition for the full duration including the opening and closing ceremonies and the education excursion.

Championship costs

An individual itemised account will be provided for every student selected in a School Sport SA state team. The cost is estimated to be approximately $1500 for this championship. Flights, levies, and training costs will be included on the invoice. Accommodation, daily transport, food and personal spending money will be an additional cost for families and will not appear on the invoice. Uniform ordering will be a separate online ordering process where payment is made directly to the supplier.

Travel and accommodation

If selected in a state team, a non-refundable flight booking fee applies. This amount will be included on the student's itemised invoice. All team members travel as a group to and from the championship, with all travel arrangements coordinated by School Sport SA. Parent/caregivers may negotiate independent travel arrangements for the return trip only. Parents who can accompany their child must provide their own accommodation whilst at the championship. This also includes transport to and from the venue each day. Should this not be possible then the family will need to negotiate with School Sport SA to arrange appropriate accommodation and daily transport.

Fixtures and results

See School Sport Australia Netball for fixtures and results as they are available.

School Sport SA

Phone: 8416 5900
Email: education.stateteams [at] sa.gov.au